The Devotion 

Devotion to the Seven Sorrows of Mary

What is this Devotion?

This devotion is very simply honoring Mary for seven times in her life that she exhibited great virtue.  Just as on November 11th, we honor our country's veterans specifically by comemorating the end of World War I, the Seven Sorrows Devotion honors Mary by daily commemorating her.

When we daily remember and honor what Mary went through in her Seven Sorrows, we are practicing this devotion.

Psalm 69 is an expression of anguish. In despair, the Psalmist cries out, “I looked for pity, but there was none, and for comforters, but I found none.” By commemorating Mary's  Seven Sorrows, we  accompany Jesus and Mary in their pain. This is a way of ensuring that Jesus’ crucifixion was not in vain.

What are Mary's Seven Sorrows?

Mary's Seven Sorrows are: 

1.) The Prophecy of Simeon- Luke 2:22-35
2.) The Flight into Egypt- Matthew 2:13-15 
3.) The Loss of Jesus in the Temple- Luke 2:41-52
4.) Mary meets Jesus on the Road to Calvary- Luke 23:27-31
5.) Mary Stands at the Foot of the Cross- John 19:25-27
6.) Mary Receives the Dead Body of Jesus in Her Arms- John 19:38-40
7.) The Burial of Jesus - John 19:41-42

Why pray this Devotion?

At the most recent, major apparition of our Blessed Mother, Mary asked that this devotion be spread.  At Kibeho, Rwanda in the 1980's, Mary again asked that this devotion be spread.  

Want more reasons? Read the promises given by Mary, the Mother of God, to St. Bridget for souls who daily reflect on her Seven Sorrows.

How do you pray this Devotion?

Daily commemorating Mary's Seven Sorrows can be done several ways.  You can pray the Seven Sorrows Rosary, or you can pray this short prayer that I wrote. 

Learn about the Promises!